If you’re like many people, you know that California has been working hard to increase the state minimum wage for several years, and that every January, increases take place across the state. Several municipalities are taking a more aggressive approach than the state is, which means employees who make minimum wage can expect an increase in your pay starting July 1, 2020.
List of California Localities Increasing Minimum Wage July 1, 2020
Here’s a list of the localities that are increasing their minimum wage this summer – and what kind of increase you can expect to see.
|Locality||<25 Employees||>25 Employees||100+ Employees|
|City and County of Los Angeles||$14.25||$15|
|City and County of San Francisco||$16.07||$16.07|
Two cities have chosen to delay the minimum wage increase they’d originally planned – San Carlos and Hayward – due to the economic burdens many employers are feeling due to the coronavirus pandemic. The increases will actually take place on January 1, 2021.
What’s Happening With Minimum Wage in the Rest of the State?
Every year from now until 2023, the state of California is increasing its minimum wage across the board. Cities and counties can set their own minimum wages – as long as they’re higher than the state minimum wage – as well. Here’s what’s on the schedule for California’s minimum wage.
|Date||<25 Employees||>25 Employees|
|January 1, 2021||$13/hour||$14/hour|
|January 1, 2022||$14/hour||$15/hour|
|January 1, 2023||$15/hour|
The state will reach its ultimate goal – $15 per hour – on January 1, 2023, when businesses with fewer than 25 employees will be required to pay workers at least that amount.
What Happens if Your Employer Pays Less Than Minimum Wage?
Because the cities and counties listed in the table above have raised their minimum wages, employers are required by law to pay workers at least that amount. And even if you volunteered to do so, you’re not allowed to work for less than minimum wage. (California Civil Code §1668 and California Civil Code §3513 make it unlawful.) However, as with anything else, there are a handful of exceptions to the rule, such as when you’re a “learner.” If you’re a learner, you can be paid no less than 85 percent of the minimum wage, rounded to the nearest nickel, during your first 160 hours of employment if you have no similar or related experience to the occupation.
Likewise, some employees are exempt from the minimum wage law because they’re:
- Outside salespersons
- People who are a spouse, parent or child of the employer
If you’re not sure whether your employer is allowed to pay you less than the minimum wage for your city, county or the state, it’s probably a good idea to call a Los Angeles employment attorney.
Do You Need to Talk to an Attorney About Minimum Wage and Your Employer?
Whether you’re in one of the localities that raised its minimum wage on July 1, 2020 or you’re in another part of California, we may be able to help you if your employer has failed to pay you minimum wage. Most employees – the vast majority, in fact – are entitled to earn at least or more than the state’s minimum wage for working. It doesn’t matter if you’re part-time or full-time, or what your immigration status is.
Call us at 818-230-8380 to schedule a free consultation with a Los Angeles employment lawyer now. We’ll answer your questions and develop a strategy that gets you the best possible outcome.