How Many Hours Can an Employee Work Without a Break in California?

How Many Hours Can an Employee Work Without a Break - California Labor Law

How many hours can an employee work without a break in California? Five. California law requires nonexempt employees to get a 30-minute meal break after working five hours in one day. Employees who work more than ten hours in a day are entitled to take another 30-minute meal break. But while five hours is the longest stretch of time a … Read More

Medical Marijuana Retailers and Class Action Lawsuits

Medical Marijuana Retailers and California Employment Laws - Class Action Lawsuits

Medical marijuana companies – dispensaries, growers and large-scale operations that coordinate the entire supply chain – have recently started getting a lot of attention for failing to stick to California’s wage and hour laws. In fact, they’ve been the subject of a number of class action lawsuits recently. Here’s what you need to know. Related: What is a class action … Read More

Tip Laws in California: What You Need to Know

Tip Laws in California - What You Need to Know - Los Angeles Labor and Employment Lawyer

Many employees receive tips as part of their jobs – and you might be surprised to learn that there are tip laws in California. Occupations in the service industry, such as restaurant servers, housekeepers and drivers earn regular hourly pay from their employers, and customers have the option to give them extra money as a tip or gratuity for service. … Read More

Minimum Wage in Los Angeles

Minimum Wage in Los Angeles

The minimum wage in Los Angeles is set to go up to $13.25 per hour on July 1, and that’s right around the corner. In January, the statewide minimum wage increased to $11 per hour for workers at companies with 25 or fewer employees and $12 for workers at companies with 26 or more employees – but the city of … Read More

What is Assembly Bill 5, and How Does it Affect Independent Contractors?

Small Business and AB-5 in California - Independent Contractors

The California Assembly’s most recent foray into gig work legislation – an attempt to help workers get the employee status they deserve, rather than allowing companies to consider them independent contractors just to save a few bucks – is based on a California Supreme Court decision on employee misclassification. What is Assembly Bill 5, and How Does it Affect Independent … Read More

Unpaid Commissions

Unpaid commissions are a common type of wage claim in Glendale and the surrounding communities. If your employer owes you commissions but isn’t paying them, you may have legal recourse. While every case is different, it may be in your best interest to talk to an unpaid commissions attorney who can evaluate your situation and, if possible, represent your best … Read More

When Should You Call a Los Angeles Labor Lawyer?

When Should You Call a Los Angeles Labor Lawyer

If you’re like many people, you could benefit from talking to a Los Angeles labor lawyer – but if you’re like most people, you don’t really know when to call, whether your employer has violated your rights, or what would happen if you talked to an attorney. This guide will walk you through when you should call a Los Angeles … Read More

Minimum Wage for Servers in California

Minimum Wage for Servers in California

Minimum wage for servers in California is the same as it is elsewhere in the state – regardless of the fact that waiters and waitresses receive tips. Tips don’t count toward minimum wage for servers in California. Employers must pay them the state’s standard minimum wage. What You Need to Know About Minimum Wage for Servers in California Servers at … Read More

Reporting Time Pay in the Retail Industry: An Analysis of Ward v. Tilly’s

This article will discuss a recent case out of the Second Appellate District of the California Court of Appeals, Ward v. Tilly’s, Inc. On February 4, 2019, the Court determined that an employee who works in retail is entitled to “reporting time pay”, when the employer schedules that employee for “on-call shifts” and requires that employee to call in two … Read More

California Minimum Wage Increases January 1, 2019

California Minimum Wage Increases January 1, 2019: Your Legal Rights if Your Employer Fails to Compensate You At the New Minimum Wage Absent a few exceptions, employers are required to pay their employees minimum wage for all hours worked. While “all hours worked” has been the subject of much litigation, it is beyond the scope of this article. The California … Read More